For PDF of Press Release click below Vancouver, B.C. (December 10, 2013) – The British Columbia Sports Hall of Fame has selected ten individuals and one team for induction as part of its 2014 class.

“The 2014 Class of Inductees to be honoured by the BC Sports Hall of Fame showcases the best of the best in BC sport,” said Marion Lay, Honoured Member and chair of the Selection Committee. “Our selection committee did an outstanding job of sifting through 115 nominations; we thank them and the members of the public who take the time to submit nominations.”

Induction recognizes excellence in sport, contribution to sport and the impact on sport in British Columbia, in the categories of athlete, builder, team, pioneer, media, and W.A.C. Bennett. After extensive review, discussion and debate, the Selection Committee submitted their recommendations to the Board of Trustees of the BC Sports Hall of Fame who confirmed the 2014 slate of inductees. The Selection Committee is comprised of 13 individuals representing the BC sport community at large, members of the BC Sports Hall of Fame Board of Trustees and the media.

Honoured Member Tom Larscheid and Selection Committee member Tom Mayenknecht announced the 2014 induction class today in the Hall of Champions of the BC Sports Hall of Fame.


• From New Westminster
• Silver medalists at the 1978 women’s world softball championships, only defeat coming to the USA in the final game
• Last club team to represent Canada at the world championships and only women’s team to date to win a world championship medal
• Overall record for the season of 113 wins, 16 losses, and 2 ties.
• Team Members: Donna Blackstock, Eileen Costello, Heather Cranston, Michelle Desaulniers, Debbie Duke, Rosemary Fuller, Adrian Lavigne (manager and coach), Dr. J. Ross MacLean (sponsor), Alistair MacLeod (assistant coach), Ann MacLeod, Patti McGuire, Diane Materi, Joanne Mick, Sandra Nerreter, Janice Robinson, Liz Wood, Norma Wood, Stan Yip (business manager)